traybakesandtacos

What we eat and how we make it

Pretty perfect day

1 Comment

Today is a great day – my husband has been away for a week on a cycling holiday so I’ve had the kids 24-7 and was feeling like I was about to go mad! So, today was my day off – Yippee!

Started by doing our local 5k park run which I have been dying to do since they started it a few weeks ago but haven’t been able to do. When I came home there was a lovely parcel of stuff I had bought from Boden – half of it will probably go back but how great was the feeling of opening it! I am definitely keeping one this as I’m wearing it already – this green breton top is from Johnnie B – Boden’s older kids range – it goes up to age 16+ so is a great place to pick up tops.

 

IMG_0994

Unfortunately I found these Johnnie B jeans a bit tight  – especially if you have child bearing hips like mine! – so they are going back.

Then I got to do some baking…on my own.. with no kids asking ‘Can I help Mum??’

I spent the afternoon in the town drinking coffee, window shopping, and then visited my wee friend for a chat.

And finally, tonight we’re going out for dinner – pretty great day!

But back to the baking 🙂

When I’m looking for a recipe for something to bake, my go to book is this:

IMG_0982

 

Books like these are also a bit of a Northern Irish tradition – normally published by churches or charity groups to raise money for a new roof – they are a wealth of lovely, homely recipes that remind me of growing up. Most importantly, they always have a section like this.

IMG_0978

 

No tray bakes today though – today it’s Pavlova. I’m going to take it to my friends house for dinner on Sunday so I’ll bake it today and decorate it tomorrow before we go.

INGREDIENTS

4 egg whites

250g caster sugar

1tsp vinegar

1tsp cornflour

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch salt

 

METHOD

Heat oven to 150C/130C fan/gas 2. Whisk the egg whites until they form stiff peaks, then whisk in the sugar, 1 tbsp at a time, until the meringue looks glossy. Whisk in the vinegar, cornflour and vanilla.

IMG_0983 IMG_0984 IMG_0985

 

Cover a large baking sheet with parchment (or tin foil coz that’s what my mum always used!) and grease lightly with vegetable oil. Spread the mixture over the parchment in whatever shape takes your fancy (a circle is traditional but I like a square – what a rebel!) Bake for about 1 hour then switch off oven and allow to cool in the oven.

This is it before it’s cooked – after it looked pretty similar but felt firm and crispy 🙂

IMG_0986

When you are ready to serve, decorate with whipped cream and fresh fruit – I’ll do this tomorrow so you’ll see it then.

Now, I cook in an Aga so do things a little differently to these instructions but the key to the good pavlova is the vinegar and cornflour. I have no idea about the science behind it but it’s what makes the dessert lovely and soft in the middle but crispy on the outside

 

Of course, you are all thinking – 4 egg whites.. what about the yolks?…. go on, admit it, you are thinking it

Well, here is a blog post with a very useful list of ideas of what to do with them

 

I’ll tell you what I did with mine on Monday – I’m sure you are on the edge of your seats 🙂

Janine

x

 



One thought on “Pretty perfect day

  1. Pingback: Take two on leftover egg yolks. | traybakesandtacos

Leave a comment