traybakesandtacos

What we eat and how we make it

Monday Again….

2 Comments

…but not as we know it!

I love Bank Holiday Monday’s – they feel a bit wrong – like we are bunking off school!

I posted some pics yesterday (silent Sunday – no words, just pictures) of my finished pavlova (lush) and a lemon cake I made with the leftover egg yolks  (not so lush)

My dilemma as to what to do with the leftover egg yolks was exacerbated by the fact that I don’t really like custard based things and there were a lot of custard based suggestions on google.

There was a suggestion however, that you could use them to make a normal cake and just use some milk as a substitute for the egg white so I thought I’d adapt my tried and tested lemon cake recipe – didn’t really work! It was just too dense and heavy and while it tasted ok – it was not such a nice mouth feel (if you know what I mean?) However, between my husband and my father in law, it’s all gone now so maybe it wasn’t as bad as I thought.

I think next time I’ll just time my pavlova making with dinner time and use the egg yolks to make pasta carbonara as everyone in our house loves it.

 

Anyway….

Today we were torn between going to the Bread Festival at Castle Ward and the May Day celebrations in Holywood. The thought of a 1 hour drive to Castle Ward with 4 grumpy children swung it in favour of Holywood!

On the way we stopped off for a walk at Crawfordsburn country park – pretty miserable weather but it’s so lovely down there that it didn’t really matter.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

We have never been to the May Day celebrations in Holywood before but it’s definitely worth a visit – loads and loads of stalls, some food, some craft and some fundraising stalls which were selling lots of bits and pieces that I would have love to browsed over but was busy keeping an eye on the kids instead!

IMG_0999 IMG_1002

For lunch the kids had the standard burger and hot dog but Dave and I had chicken gumbo and cornbread from the Bay Tree stall – delicious!

IMG_1001

I’ve never actually been to the Bay Tree coffee shop but I hear they are renowned for their cinnamon scones. That thought put me right in the mood for a scone so when we came home I made a batch of raspberry and white chocolate scones (cunningly using up a packet of white chocolate berries that we had from Easter and no one liked…resourceful…oh yes!)

I only have a picture of the finished article as my phone is being a nightmare at the moment and freezing randomly for hours at a time.

DSC_1729

Here’s my basic scone recipe

Ingredients

1 lb selfraising soda bread flour

1 beaten egg

2 dsp sugar

2 dsp vegetable oil

1/2 pint buttermilk

pinch salt

Method

Mix flour, sugar and salt in a large bowl. In a separate jug mix the buttermilk, beaten egg and oil. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add the liquid. Using a knife, lightly mix together until it forms a dough. Tip on to a floured worktop and shape into  a round about 1 inch thick. Cut out scone shapes and place on a floured baking tray. Cook at 220c for 10 mins.

For flavoured scones, just add the flavouring (raisins, cherries, apple & cinnamon, bacon, mars bars – your imagination is the only limit here!) to the dry ingredient mix.

Janine

x

2 thoughts on “Monday Again….

  1. Brilliant, just came across your blog! Might even try the scone recipe…

  2. Do try it – it’s very easy :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers